This modest wood-frame structure with a gambrel roof is a rare surviving example of a building type that was common in 18th-century Annapolis. It was just this sort of inexpensive rental housing that the new state government pressed into service as barracks for military recruits during the Revolutionary War. Today, visitors learn what life was like for the “lower and middling sort” in early Maryland through an interactive experience with guides dressed in colonial attire and the opportunity to see and handle authentic and reproduction artifacts.
History of Hogshead
This early 19th-century gambrel-roofed building is similar to the modest wood frame structures that housed many colonial Annapolis families as well as fresh recruits to Revolutionary War service. Beginning in April 1777, the State of Maryland billeted recruits waiting to join Continental Army units in vacant and inexpensive rental houses throughout Annapolis. Most of these men stayed in the capital city only a few days or weeks before shipping out.
43 Pinkney Street had seriously deteriorated by the late 1960s, when it was targeted for preservation in a project jointly undertaken by Historic Annapolis and the State of Maryland and partially funded by a grant from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Restoration professionals retained much of the original timber framing but replaced the building’s exterior siding and roof covering. The interior is now a mixture of old and new material. The strengthened original stair leads to the second story, which has original flooring, board partition walls, and trim. The cellar had been filled in the 19th century, but it was re-excavated to reveal a brick floor, a simple barrel-lined sump, a large cooking fireplace, and a beehive bake oven.
Hours and Admission:
Free admission; donations welcome.
Admission charge for group tours arranged by appointment.
© 2022 Historic Annapolis. All Rights Reserved.